Summers & Winters

It’s been six days since I received a very special package in the mail; I had no idea to even expect it until she sent me a message confirming my mailing address. That’s when I got excited. I had recently sent my friend a message asking her for a favor, and boy, did she deliver!

But first, a little history…

Over the past few years I have had conversations here and there with moms who have had miscarriages like myself. Each story is different, and I love to hear them. It seems therapeutic for both of us when we talk about our loss(es). I still remember one lady from a church where I spent my college years–she’d miscarried five times, I think. I don’t remember her name, but I remember the couple standing in front of the church asking for the prayers from their beloved friends.

After this most recent miscarriage, I kind of wanted something tangible to memorialize the babies I never had the opportunity to hold. In all honesty, I felt completely silly for wanting something like that, and I’m not entirely sure why. Some couples name their unborn babies, some get jewelry, and I’ve even heard of couple planting a tree in honor of their child.

My friend Selena is amazing. She has been one of my mom’s best friends since before I was born. I grew up playing with her kids, who are younger than I am, but I haven’t seen her in about five years. Thank God for Facebook, right? How else would we keep up with folks who live across the country? Haha! Selena is a very talented artist in the world of crochet.

With each of my three sons she has graciously crocheted beautiful blankets for us to treasure, and I’ve loved covering my babies with such beautiful gifts of love. She puts immense care and consideration into her creations, and I knew that she could make something for me to hold and enjoy as I remember my three little ones whom I never got to see.

20160301_090502

Big Banana’s 

20160301_082932

Medium Banana’s

20160301_083041

Tiny Banana’s (used to be bright yellow, but this child LOVES his blanket!)

So, thank you, Selena, for surprising me with this particular pattern. Thank you for how you love my family and grace us with your talent and expertise. Thank you, Selena, for sharing your compassion for us in the hours is took you to choose a pattern, select a yarn and color, and then compose this beautiful blanket. Thank you for blessing us.

20160301_083013

For my three wee bananas in heaven with Jesus. Three hearts surrounded by the seasons as years go by…

 

And thanks, too, for the sweet looking apron from New Mexico! You’re amazing, Selena, and I love you.

P.S. This is what happens when I put the blanket out on the floor to take a picture:

20160301_083044

He doesn’t love his blanket at all, does he?

3 comments

  1. Larissa Arias · March 1, 2016

    These are beautiful and I think a wonderful way to remember your babies. What a sweet friend!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Susan · March 1, 2016

    Selena is Da Bomb! So talented…and with a Heart of Pure Gold! Proud to call her my friend, too!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Selena · March 1, 2016

    Thank you for your kind and loving words. It means a lot to me knowing something I make with my hands is loved as much as I love you guys.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

